Skip to main content


Various university committees review appointments, reappointments, tenure recommendations and promotions of faculty and EHRA Non-Faculty. Additional reviews by the UNC System Office and the Board of Trustees for salaries above designated ceilings are addressed in a separate section. The Board of Trustees and Board of Governors do not accept actions with retroactive effective dates; therefore, units should refer to the date chart to determine effective dates. The following is a brief description of the university review committees.

The open meetings law does not affect school, college, departmental or curriculum meetings; such meetings are not required to be open to the public.

Arts & Sciences Advisory Committee (ASAC)

This consists of the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and the Chair of each of the four College divisions (Fine Arts, Humanities, Basic and Applied Sciences, Social Sciences). ASAC reviews and advises on EHRA tenure track and tenured appointments, reappointments, and promotions in the College. ASAC recommends personnel actions to the Dean.

Health Sciences Advisory Committee (HSAC)

This committee is comprised of faculty members from each of the Health Affairs Schools (two from School of Medicine, one each from the Gillings School of Global Public Health, School of Nursing, Adams School of Dentistry and Eshelman School of Pharmacy) and is chaired by the vice provost for faculty affairs. HSAC advises the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost for EHRA tenure and tenure track appointments, reappointments and promotions.

Appointment, Promotion And Tenure Committee (APT)

This committee is comprised of twelve members of the faculty holding permanent tenure at the rank of professor. Four (4) members with primary appointments in the College of Arts and Sciences; four (4) members with primary appointments in the School of Medicine, and four (4) members with primary appointments within the professional schools other than the School of Medicine (School of Government, School of Law, School of Information and Library Science, Hussman School of Journalism and Media, School of Education, School of Nursing, Gillings School of Global Public Health, Adams School of Dentistry, Eshelman School of Pharmacy). Members are elected by the voting faculty at large for a three-year term. Terms are staggered so that at least one term from each of the three constituencies expires each year. Elected members of the Advisory Committee, the Faculty Executive Committee, the Faculty Hearings Committee, and the Faculty Grievance Committee are not eligible to serve on the committee.

The committee serves in an advisory capacity to the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost with respect to:

  • appointments, reappointments, and promotions that have the effect of conferring permanent tenure;
  • promotion to a higher rank of persons holding permanent tenure at the rank of associate professor or assistant professor; and
  • appointment to a distinguished professorship that is not restricted by the terms of the endowment to a particular school or department.

The committee holds regular meetings once each month throughout the calendar year.

Appointment, Promotion And Tenure Subcommittee

This subcommittee is composed of three members of the APT committee, chosen in rotation from the full APT each month. The subcommittee reviews all dossiers and reports to the full APT Committee.