Skip to main content
Dear Colleagues,

In the spring, we announced the launch of the Provost Distinguished Faculty Leaders Program (PDFL). This program was established to offer outstanding faculty the opportunity to explore academic leadership roles within the university. The PDFL will enable participants to enhance their abilities as faculty leaders by collaborating with leaders in the Provost’s Office on projects that hold significance for both themselves and the university.

Participants will engage in a cohort-based, year-long academic training program designed to expose them to higher education processes, issues, ideas, and challenges at the executive level and to prepare them for leadership roles. Collaborating closely with each other and partners in the Office of Faculty Affairs and the Center for Faculty Excellence, they will also have the chance to interact with and gain insights from leaders and experts from various departments at Carolina. Throughout the program, participants will work with their mentor(s) on a proposal related to their designated project, initiative or program that centers around faculty community and belonging, faculty development and faculty advancement, among other areas. In the second year, participants will transition to the development phase of the program. They will continue to work with their mentor(s) and dedicated staff to finalize and implement their project.

Our 2023 – 2025 cohort includes:

  • Dr. Travis Allbritton, Clinical Associate Professor, School of Social Work
  • Dr. Spencer Barnes, Associate Professor, Hussman School of Journalism and Media
  • Dr. Kim Boggess, Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology, School of Medicine
  • Dr. Tanya Garcia, Associate Professor of Biostatistics, Gillings School of Global Public Health
  • Dr. Johna Register-Mihalik, Associate Professor, Exercise and Sport Science, College of Arts and Sciences

Learn more about these exceptional faculty on the PDFL Program webpage.

We want to thank each of these participants and their chairs and deans for partnering with the Office of the Provost to make this opportunity possible for our outstanding cohort. Please join us in congratulating our colleagues on this distinction.

J. Christopher Clemens, Provost

Giselle Corbie, Senior Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs

This message is sponsored by: Office of the Provost
Comments are closed.